montana elk population map 2019

Looking forward to finally being able to just research elk..I don’t think they make it confusing on purpose, but they are definitely not user friendly. Archery antelope hunters targeting water holes should expect fewer encounters since there are more options for critters to water, rifle deer hunters should expect to spend more time glassing since high vegetation offers better concealment, and heavy cover will make for tougher hiking for bird hunters and more difficult scenting conditions for gun dogs. I am a disabled veteran with hunting placards and recently moved from hunt unit 240 to 214.I want to try for elk but do not know anyone in this area. Access district and public hunting land maps. Thank you for your time.Hi John. Yes, keeping up with all the different state rules is confusing. The Ferris elk unit is over population objective by nearly three times, while the bull to cow ratio is sky high with more than 60 bulls per 100 cows. So, the whitetail population is holding steady overall, rather than increasing in most places. Thanks for any advice.No you do not have to pick a Hunting District (HD) when applying for the non-resident general elk license in Montana. Also how was the winter? And hiking in a few miles usually won't get you away from competition in these areas. So again Thank you!Thanks Terry… Most new DIY hunters to fair chase public land hunting don’t know what they are getting into.. but what a journey.I will try tp get you some pics, but I’m 70 and never signed up or used instagram but I’ll try to get you some pics somehow. It does give you the right to kill an elk anywhere the general season is open, but you must comply with the Hunt District’s (HDs aka units) regulations (see examples below)…First. Elk counts in western Montana were good this spring, continuing a long, upward population trend in western Montana in most locations.